Visit our other websites

  • Pulaski County Calendar
  • Fulton County Calendar
  • Miami County Calendar
  • Cass County Calendar

Indiana University Kokomo nursing students honored in hooding, pinning ceremony

KOKOMO, Ind. –  The Indiana University Kokomo School of Nursing recognized more than 100 health care professionals as they completed degree programs in December 2019.

Ten Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) students participated in a hooding ceremony, to denote their advanced credentials, while 34 Bachelor of Science in Nursing, and 57 R.N. to B.S.N. students received their pins, signifying completion of a bachelor’s degree, during a ceremony Thursday, December 19. All December graduates may participate in Commencement on May 12, 2020.

Carolyn Townsend, assistant dean of the pre-licensure B.S.N. track, said all take their place among a long tradition of men and women who have provided exceptional care and leadership in nursing throughout history, including Florence Nightingale, Clara Barton, and Rear Admiral Sylvia Trent-Adams.

“Nurses bring an important ethical imperative to their work, wherever we serve, and we add value wherever we work,” she said, noting there is value in being a recognizable leader, a teacher, a bedside nurse, or many other career fields available.

“Each day you work, you have before you the opportunity to leave an invisible mark in the life of someone you care for, lead, or educate,” Townsend said. “Remember, you are an IU nurse. IU nurses are distinctive. We lead from where we stand, and we leave behind us a legacy worthy of Hoosier pride recognized around the globe. The competent practice, goodwill, and care you generate as an IU nurse will echo into the future in ways that you cannot predict, but will always matter.”

After hooding and pinning, students participated in the nursing pledge.

Those honored are listed by hometown. They include:

Master of Science in Nursing:

Attica: Carrie Shipman

Kokomo: Qismah Alruwaili

Marion: Elizabeth Wimsatt

Saudi Arabia: Rawan Albawab, Eftkhar Alroyley, Amal Alsomali, Rawan Alturki, Hibah Falatah, Tahani Maashi

Winamac: Regina Dilts

Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Atlanta: Morgan Kleinman

Camden: Sadonna Dillon

Carmel: Kelsi DeHaven, Jacob Surette

Cicero: Michala Hirl

Frankfort: Jessica Alanis

Kokomo: Tracy Brady, Lynne Dang, Kristin Gingerich, Kylee Hamilton, Stephanie Paul, Janelle Peterson, Janelle Raulerson, Katelyn Robins, Demi Shafer, Hannah Stanley, Victoria Strong

Lafayette: Tia King, Madison Williams

Logansport: Kaitlyn Cover

Marion: Christopher Osborne, Ryan Wells, Olivia Younce

Monticello: Hagen Jacobs

Noblesville: Lauren Bechara

Royal Center: Madison Brown

Tipton: Kelsey Payne, Whitney Revolt

Wabash: Allison Smith, Marcus Wells

Walton: Owen Ohman

Westfield: Jennifer Bemis, Anna Luna

West Lafayette: Emily Payton

R.N. to B.S.N.:

Anderson: Michelle Eskew, Nathaniel Johnson

Attica: Malachi Livengood

Avon: Hsiao-Jung Shu

Burkettsville, Ohio: Michelle Bruns

Crawfordsville: Kelsie Dickerson, Doree Froedge, Christy Mason, Jamie Mead, Heather Turner

Dayton: Kristine Watters

Delphi: Chelsea Clausen

Elwood: Hope Jones

Fort Wayne: Alysa Hensmann

Fowler: Tonia Hoskins

Gaston: Kyle Love

Indianapolis: Sarah Hill

Lafayette: Steffany Bearden, Rose Brown, Brian Dabbs, Michaela Fleeger, Tara Helton, Verasha Pomart, Stefanie Ridoutt, Tracy Smith, Amber Stingley, Vanda Sullivan, Chelsea Williams, Domanic Wiltermood

Losantville: Lauren Burke

Marion: Stephanie Weaver

Markleville: Elizabeth Seal

Muncie: Jacob Dively, Susan Henry, Brittany Kyle, Rebecca Shears, Heather Wallace, Christi Wohlt

Noblesville: Beth Muriithi

Otterbein: Lisa Bickett

Pendleton: Stephanie Stoner

Portland: Karen Ferner, Lisa Manor, Jennifer Smitley, Sonya Stephen, Julie Teeter

Redkey: Shana Leavell

Richmond: Carley Smith

Ridgeville: Monica Goble

Union City: Karri Wymer

Veedersburg: Christin Nickle

Walton: Carol Craw

West Lafayette: Jodi Briggs, Kathryn Einstein, Brianna Kesterson, Samantha Lowry

Wililiamsburg: Megan Toschlog

SOURCE: News release from Indiana University Kokomo