Visit our other websites

  • Miami County Calendar
  • Cass County Calendar
  • Pulaski County Calendar
  • Fulton County Calendar

Indiana Landmarks seeks nominations for preservation awards

Indiana Landmarks invites nominations for two annual awards accompanied by cash as well as the sculptures that represent the prizes. The Servaas Memorial Awards celebrate achievement in historic preservation and the Williamson Prize recognizes outstanding individual leadership in the field.

Indiana Landmarks presents Servaas Memorial Awards in two categories: nonprofit organization or public institution; and youth, which can go to a student, teacher, school, or youth-serving agency. Indiana Landmarks created the award in 1976 to honor Sandi Servaas, a dynamic young staff member who helped establish the direction of the preservation movement in Indiana before her early death.

The award recognizes outstanding achievement in historic preservation, interpreted broadly to encompass a wide range of activities and accomplishments. The Servaas Memorial Award winner in the nonprofit category collects $2,000, and recipient in the youth category takes home $1,000.

The Williamson Prize recognizes an individual who has achieved success in historic preservation and demonstrated commitment to the movement over an extended period of time. Indiana Landmarks created the prize in 2016 in honor of Reid Williamson, president of the organization from 1974 to 2005. Under his leadership, the organization grew to become the largest statewide preservation nonprofit in the U.S. with a national reputation for excellence. The Williamson Prize winner receives $1,000.

Evansville artist John McNaughton created the original wood sculptures each winner receives.

May 1 is the deadline for both award nominations. Indiana Landmarks welcomes self-nominations. Indiana Landmarks will present the awards at its Sept. 15 annual meeting in Indianapolis.

More information and the nomination forms can be found at, along with a list of the winners of both awards.