Visit our other websites

  • Fulton County Calendar
  • Pulaski County Calendar
  • Cass County Calendar
  • Miami County Calendar

Pinning ceremony honors Indiana University Kokomo nursing students

KOKOMO, Ind. —Indiana University Kokomo School of Nursing faculty honored nearly 70 students for their hard work and perseverance to complete the prestigious program, at its traditional recognition ceremony Thursday, December 14.

The ceremony is a traditional rite of passage that signifies acceptance into the profession of nursing. For those completing the Master of Science in Nursing degree, it offers recognition of their advanced knowledge and skills. Each one receives a pin specifically designed for the IU Kokomo School of Nursing.

All students recited the Florence Nightingale pledge, a statement of the ethics and principles of the profession, named for the founder of modern nursing.

“This ceremony is a significant milestone in a nursing student’s life,” said Interim Dean Mary Bourke. “The pinning dates back to 1916, and we are proud to be part of this rich tradition.”

Bourke said faculty enjoy celebrating their students’ success, and honoring their families for the support they give.

“We have been with them for one course or several, investing in their success, so it is particularly poignant for us,” she said. “We wish the December 2017 class continued success in their careers.”

Those participating completed degrees in December 2017, and are eligible to participate in Commencement on May 8, 2018. They include:

M.S.N. students:

Kokomo: Elham Algashgari, Hamad Alharbi, Kholoud Alharbi, Ebtisam Barnawi, Samantha Fouts, Jessica May, Mike Wikel

Muncie: Thamer Alonizi

Peru: Brian Arwood, Jessica Gunderson

Winamac: Kimberley Schramm

R.N. to B.S.N. students:

Attica: Megan Roe

Avon: Sibusisiwe Dube, Nathan Jennings

Dayton: Rianne Maxwell

Delphi: Cody Nelson, Jesus Olivas

Chalmers: Marci Thomas

Crawfordsville: Megan McClamroch

Hartford City: Pamela Johnson

Indianapolis: Christy Brummett, Stephanie St. Preux

Kokomo: Melissa Booth, Allison Jarvis, Michele Martin, B. Sue Meney

Lafayette: Leah Brown, Tab Gebhard, Deoanna Gorrell, Cynthia Lantigua, Lisa Lee, Cathy Robbins, Alyssa Robieson

Logansport: Theresa Abbott, Rebekah Gearhart

Muncie: Tina Smith

Noblesville: Sharon Bridson

Peru: David Cunningham

Rossville: Della Anderson

Sharpsville: Shannon Pickett

Tipton: Melody Barnett

West Lafayette: Christy Rund, Denise Shaw

West Lebanon: Jordan Hicks

Williamsport: Allison Rater

King of Prussia, Pennsylvania: Rebecca Shade

B.S.N. students:

Arcadia: Cayley Higginbotham

Cicero: Heather Hunter

Elwood: Leeza Price

Flora: Alex Luzadder

Frankfort: Judith Alanis Guijosa

Indianapolis: Chiamaka Emele, Oluebube Newman-Nwodika, Pamela Smith

Kokomo: Mallory Eller, Kali Harrison, Kathryn Hislope, Lauren Horney, Vanessa Schumacher, Andria Troyer

Marion: Melissa Henderson

Newburgh: Alicia Sommers

Noblesville: Tiffany Carr, Elizabeth Forsee, Coree Lord

Peru: Jacqueline Bean

Summitville: Stacy Holloway

Wabash: Kylie James

Zionsville: Alecia Carlson

Indiana University Kokomo serves north central Indiana.