VanNatter’s bill prioritizing clean water signed into law

NEW BILLS SIGNED INTO LAW: State Rep. Heath VanNatter (R-Kokomo) (seated, left) joins Gov. Eric Holcomb (seated, second from left) at a ceremonial signing July 12 at the Statehouse. Holcomb signed two bills into law authored by VanNatter, including one that prioritizes clean water in the state and another cutting unnecessary language from the Indiana Code.

STATEHOUSE —State Rep. Heath VanNatter’s (R-Kokomo) bill promoting the responsible expansion of clean water sources throughout the state was ceremonially signed into law on July 12.

VanNatter said a municipality can now include water lines with the broadband and gas infrastructure extended to development zones, which could attract new business and increase economic growth throughout Hoosier communities. In addition, with the approval of the state utilities commission, utilities will be able to replace water customers’ lead service lines.

“The law will aid in the economic growth of units that create infrastructure development zones and address the fiscal restrictions around investing in new water sources,” VanNatter said. “This policy will allow Indiana utilities to both develop and secure future clean water sources for Hoosiers, while encouraging planning and preparation in the process.”

VanNatter’s legislation to remove obsolete language pertaining to the inheritance tax in Indiana Code was also ceremonially signed by Gov. Eric Holcomb. The “death tax,” also known as the estate tax, was repealed in Indiana for individuals dying after Dec. 31, 2012, saving Hoosiers nearly $150 million each year.

“The actions taken in this measure cut unnecessary language in our state’s code,” VanNatter said. “Making this change will reduce the possibility of complications and confusion moving forward.”

These new laws went into effect on July 1.

SOURCE: News release from State Rep. Heath VanNatter

State Rep. Heath VanNatter (R-Kokomo) represents House District 38,  which includes portions of Carroll, Cass, Howard and Clinton Counties.